Super Yummy Vegetable Fried (Cauliflower) “Rice”

Yesterday I was sent away from work because my eye was all red, and elementary schools avoid pink eye like the plague. After visiting a Minute Clinic AND an urgent care doctor, I was officially diagnosed with “viral conjunctivitis,” and told not to come back to work. So I went to Whole Foods to find some kitchen inspiration (i.e. grocery shop for the rest of the week). I love shopping on weekday mornings, so calm and peaceful it’s practically a spiritual experience. Also worth mentioning, but completely unrelated to this recipe, Atlantic salmon has been on sale for at least two weeks now, $10.99/lb FTW. Obviously I bought the salmon since we have fish at least once a week. I also picked up some chicken thighs, chicken breasts, a couple types of sausage (so perfect for quick and easy one skillet meals), and a pre-marinated pork loin. We have been particularly fond of the sun-dried tomato pork loin, and everyone else must be too because they were all out. There’s always an abundance of the sweet and sour pork loin, but I’ve avoided buying it in the past because I am never inspired to come up with a fun side to go with it. Well, those days are over now that I’ve discovered the perfect recipe for veggie fried rice. Completely packed with veggies and not lacking in the flavor department, this recipe is better (and better for you) than takeout!

veggiefriedrice

[Note: This is not a paleo-friendly recipe on account of the soy sauce and peas, but can easily be made paleo by substituting Coconut aminos to replace the soy sauce and another veggie, like green beans, to replace the peas (or just take the peas out without substituting). I’ve never used coconut aminos so I can’t vouch for the flavor balance or proper quantities to use, but feel free to experiment!]

Ingredients

1 batch of cauliflower rice (prepared in advance and cooled)

3tbsp sesame oil

2 eggs, beaten

2 inches fresh ginger either finely chopped or grated

2 cloves garlic

3 scallions, thinly sliced

2 carrots, peeled and sliced

1/2 red bell pepper, diced

3/4 c sliced mushrooms

1 small yellow onion, chopped

1/2 c frozen peas

1/3 c low sodium soy sauce (I used Trader Joe’s)

Preparation

Since I had a little extra time on my hands, I didn’t make this all at once. I made my oven roasted cauliflower rice and prepped my veggies earlier in the day. Veggie prep was about 15 minutes (not including the rice) and threw them all together in a large zip lock until I was ready to cook dinner. Actual cooking time was all of 10 minutes.

Add sesame oil to a large skillet (or wok if you have one) and heat on high. You’re going to need to move quick on these steps because you’re using high heat and you don’t want the oil to burn. Add the eggs and break apart into smaller pieces as they cook. As soon as the eggs are cooked, throw in the ginger and garlic and mix it up until fragrant (less than a minute) before adding the veggie mix (except the peas) and cook for about 2-3 minutes, being sure to keep it moving so nothing burns. Next, add the rice and cook for another minute or so before adding the peas and soy sauce. Mix it all together, cook for another minute, then serve!

Variations

I love skillets and stir fries because they’re quick and easy and allow you to play around with flavor combinations. For instance, the above recipe could easily be turned into shrimp fried rice by adding cooked shrimp at the end. You can also substitute any of the vegetables with your own favorite herbs and vegetables; I’m thinking any mix of broccoli, asparagus, green beans, snap peas, tomatoes (cherry, heirloom, or beefsteak), sweet potato, basil, cilantro…Or, take it from side dish to entree by making it a combination fried rice and adding shrimp, chicken, beef, and pork. The possibilities are endless!

Modified from Rachel Ray’s Special Fried Rice

2 thoughts on “Super Yummy Vegetable Fried (Cauliflower) “Rice”

Leave a Reply

