Slow Cooker BBQ Beef Back Ribs with Vegetable Puree & Sauteed Swiss Chard (Paleo)

Since I’m on break this week, I lazily stumbled out of bed around 8 a.m. (i.e. “sleeping in” for adults). As my lovely partner prepared for a grueling day of school, I pranced around the kitchen whimsically deciding to try my hand at making smoothies, and basked in the amazing feeling of having nothing on my schedule but a 5-mile tempo run. I turned to my partner, who was rushing to get out the door, and offered him my awesome smoothie creation, which he initially rejected before saying, “Yeah, I’ll have a smoothie if you drop me off at school… And then keep driving… To the grocery store.” Busted. I’m on break and I haven’t even done groceries all week. Domestic failure, I am. I used this as an opportunity to wander over to the wholesale produce market in a nearby suburb and take my time perusing the aisles during off-peak hours.

As previously expressed in a rather lengthy blog post, I really despise the quality of grocery stores available in our immediate area. This wholesale place did not disappoint. Produce galore!!! I may have gone overboard, but we’ll see. 8lbs of strawberries, brussel sprouts, asparagus, butternut squash, spaghetti squash, rainbow carrots, Swiss chard, purple onion, yellow onion, portabello mushrooms, turnips, Japanese sweet potato (my new obsession), radishes… Now I just have to cook it all.

Produce galore

Produce galore

Tonight’s Menu: Slow Cooker BBQ Beef Back Ribs with Paleo Vegetable Puree (adapted from this here recipe) & Sauteed Swiss Chard

For the Ribs:

ribsIngredients

2lbs Beef Back Ribs

Meat Rub: (per your liking) dark chili powder, brown sugar, pepper, celery salt, thyme, coriander, cumin

6 oz tomato paste

1/4 c red wine

1/4 c vinegar

1 1/2 c water

1/4 c brown sugar

Instructions:

1. Mix seasoning together in a bowl to create rub
2. Rinse and pat dry ribs before rubbing with seasoning; set aside
3. In the slow cooker, mix red wine, vinegar, water, tomato paste, and brown sugar (until brown sugar dissolves)
4. Add ribs to the slow cooker, stirring pot to cover with sauce
5. Cover and cook on low 4-8 hours (time varies depending on your slow cooker; mine looked done after 4 hours)

For the Puree:

Ingredients

veggie puree1

1 Japanese sweet potato (peeled and diced)

1 small/medium turnip (diced)

2 carrots (diced)

1/2 cup coconut milk

1/2 tbsp ghee or 1 tbsp butter*

sea salt

ground pepper

Instructions

1. Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.
2. Peel and dice vegetables
3. Boil the carrots, sweet potato and turnip in a large saucepan until very tender, about 20 minutes.
4. Drain the vegetables and transfer to a food processor or blender and puree; for a chunkier texture, you       can use a hand mixer at high speed.
5. Stir in the coconut milk, dill and ghee/butter, and season with salt and pepper to taste.
6. Put in an ovenproof casserole dish and sprinkle with nutmeg over the top.
7. Bake, uncovered for 15 minutes, or until thoroughly heated.

Dinner is served!

bbqbeefbackribs

Leave a Reply

