Part of a Whole

This post was written to replace a previously written rant on the Chicago Marathon’s new registration system. Reminding myself, it’s not that serious.

This week I introduced the concept of fractions to a sixth grade student I support who is an English language learner and has only been in the United States just over a year. We made a t-chart of the different types of “wholes” you can have, with one side being wholes broken into pieces less than one, and the other side being groups or sets constituting a whole. We found, in our list-making glory, the group side was overwhelmingly longer. His family (12 people making one whole), my family (8 people making one whole), his classroom (20 people making one whole), and the list went on and on and…. you get the idea.

As the week continued, in keeping with the idea of the Whole Me, I reflected on all the different parts of life that make me whole. For each of those parts, countless people have been both directly and indirectly involved in positively shaping and influencing who I am as a person. I’m constantly amazed by the power of interconectedness. Today is no different.

When you're part of a community, you're never alone. Footprints along my running path this afternoon from runners before me.

When you’re part of a community, you’re never alone. Footprints along my running path this afternoon from runners before me.

Runners around the world dedicated their runs today to Meg Cross Menzies, a mother of three young children who was killed by a drunk driver while out for her morning run earlier this week. I was made aware of this tragic event by one of my sorority sisters, and while I’ve been making a conscious effort to take a short break from running to pursue other fitness endeavors, I knew it was time to lace up my running shoes. As the description on the Facebook event page says, “Take in the fresh air, be aware of your surroundings, keep your headphones on low, feel the heaviness in your lungs, the soreness in your legs, and be grateful for it–for all of it. The sweat, the pain, the wind, the cold…everything. Be grateful for that moment.”

And I was. I was grateful for the ability to run, I was grateful for being able to feel snowflakes on my face, and I was grateful that even though I was physically out there alone, I had a whole running community out there with me, running with the same intention.  I returned from my run and learned I ran the same distance, at the same pace, in the same weather, at the same time as one of my sorority sisters who did her run in Chicago.  When you are open to it, being part of a community means you are never alone.  So, while I’ve been a bit down for not having a buddy to run with me, today I’m reminded I’m really fortunate to be part of a whole running community.

For Meg, and every other runner out there. Thanks for being part of my run today!

For Meg, and every other runner out there. Thanks for being part of my run today!

One thought on “Part of a Whole

Leave a Reply

