Not My Mama’s (Bacon-Wrapped) Meatloaf…

NOTE: In order for this recipe to be Whole30 compliant, you have to carefully read the ingredients and make sure it follows all the guidelines of the Bacon Manifesto. Don’t make the same mistake I did and eat bacon all week without reading the label. Trader Joe’s applewood smoked bacon is not Whole30 compliant.

….Not really my meatloaf either. As with most of my recipes, this one is borrowed and modified. I will always give credit to my inspiration, but can only testify to the tastiness of that which comes from my own kitchen. See footnote.* I apologize in advance for the lack of an after picture, I had a mega-technology-fail (i.e. dead phone battery) in the middle of a long-distance video chat with my partner, who is half-way across the world on a business trip. I have leftovers, as one person should not eat an entire meatloaf, so I will be sure to update once I regain cell power. Turkey meatloaf (ground turkey in general) tends to lean toward the bland side, but the flavor from the bacon really pulls this one together (duh).  The kick from the paleo ketchup is a perfect compliment. 

Prep Time: 10 minutes (plus 30 minutes of refrigeration); Cook Time: 50-60 minutes (plus 5 minutes on broil)

 Ingredients: 1lb organic ground turkey, 1 small yellow onion coarsely chopped, 1/2 a giant green bell pepper (diced), 1 large (cage free) egg, 2-3 cloves of crushed garlic, seasonings of your choice (I personally used sea salt, freshly ground pepper, dark chili powder, and paprika), at least 12 strips of bacon (I use Trader Joe’s Applewood Smoked Bacon); Optional: ketchup (I made my own paleo ketchup using the recipe from Paleo Grubs)

Step 1: Throw all the ingredients (except the bacon and ketchup) in a medium-large mixing bowl and mix well, until seasoning and onions/green peppers are evenly distributed.

meatloaf1

Step 2: In a loaf pan (I use a 2 pan system specifically designed for meatloaf so the fat drains in the second pan. If you don’t have such a loaf pan, you can line a baking sheet with aluminum foil), lay individual bacon strips side-by-side until the length of the pan is covered, then lay 2-4 strips to cover the width… The picture explains much better.

I clearly lacked bacon as I only had one pack (10 strips)

I clearly lacked bacon as I only had one pack (10 strips)

Step 3: Spoon the meat mixture into the loaf pan and start crossing the bacon. Start by laying the vertical strips down, then take the horizontal strips and gently pull them across, securing with a toothpick. Repeat until the loaf is neatly wrapped. Then refrigerate for 30 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 400F.

This is what my wrapping looked like... I could have used like 3-4 extra strips of bacon.

This is what my wrapping looked like… I could have used like 3-4 extra strips of bacon.

Step 4: If you’re a ketchup lover, this is when you can pour a layer of ketchup on top of the loaf, then cook at 400F for 50-60 minutes, then broil until the bacon is extra crispy on top.

Ketchup!

Ketchup!

Step 5:Remove from the oven and cool for a few minutes before slicing and plating (remember to remove the toothpicks first!).

Step 6: Serve with lots of veggies! I chose roasted brussel sprouts and mashed cauliflower (literally boil, drain, add a little ghee or clarified butter and mash it up). Enjoy!

Day 5 of my Whole30 and I’m still winning!

*Tonight’s dinner inspired by Frisky Lemon

Leave a Reply

